What Happens If I get Hit by An Uninsured Driver?
There is never a good time to get into a car accident. Aside from injury, an accident involving an uninsured or underinsured driver is one of the worst possible outcomes a collision can have. If you find yourself in a crash with an uninsured or underinsured driver, there are steps you need to take to protect your interests, your health and your well-being.
Maintaining liability insurance in North Carolina is required by law. However, not everyone follows the law as more than 9 percent of North Carolina drivers have no insurance coverage at all. And this is to say nothing of the underinsured.
You are not required to have uninsured and underinsured insurance coverage so make sure you have that as it is inexpensive and very important as it protects you, anyone in your car and any family member that lives in your household. Call your agent and make sure you have this coverage. The maximum you can have in N.C is $1,000,000.
It is important for you to understand what to do if you are involved in a motor vehicle accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver in terms of both dealing with your insurance company as well as navigating any legal issues and/or damages that arise as a result of the infraction.
Still feeling confused? No problem. Our team has put together steps you can take should you find yourself in this situation below.
What To Do if You Are in an Accident
If you are in an accident with an uninsured driver, you should still follow many of the same steps you would as if they were insured. For instance, you should still exchange insurance and contact information, take pictures and call in a police report if necessary. If the other driver doesn’t stop or flees the scene, get all the information you can, including any witnesses, and call the police.
Next, if you are involved in a crash with someone who is uninsured or doesn’t stop, seek counsel and contact your insurance company immediately to file a claim. Notice requirements stipulate the timing of certain notices that may negatively impact both your insurance claim and your potential lawsuit. If you do not file a claim on time, your claim may be barred.
Your uninsured motorist coverage will usually cover the following types of damages:
- Property damage
- Medical bills
- Wage Loss
- Pain, suffering and disability
When You Need an Attorney
Once your insurance claim is made, you generally have three years to file a lawsuit against the uninsured motorist should that be necessary. As stated, stipulations for some notice timings are nuanced and stringent and an attorney can help you navigate all of these things.
A good attorney can also walk you through the nuance, provide you with options and help you move forward. Having an attorney on your side positions you to deal with insurance companies and the negligence of other drivers, as well as allow for fair and full compensation.
Contact The Best
We give our clients the attention they deserve in their time of need and misfortune. At GMFM, we help our clients get compensation for losses caused by the carelessness or wrongs of others.
If you have been in an accident with an uninsured motorist and would like a free consultation, please contact us online or call (919) 683-2135 today!